Popteen・ポップティーン July 2012

Popteen is a monthly fashion magazine published by Kadokawa Haruki Corporation in Japan. It is now one of Asia’s top fashion magazines, also distributed to Taiwan, Thailand and recently, the United States as well (in English of course). It features gyaru fashion, especially trends amongst high school students.

The magazine is mainly known for its gyaru icons, such as Ayumi Hamasaki, previously Tsubasa Masuwaka (graduated 2007 after marrying model Naoki Umeda), and now Funayama Kumiko (Kumicky♪).

Other artists who have appeared on the cover include Kumi Koda, Namie Amuro, Avril Lavigne, Britney Spears, Fergie and Gwen Stefani.

The magazine is well known for ‘doku-moderu’ (読者モデル), where readers have the opportunity to become models in the magazine through Popteen’s model search each year.

See the top right corner? That’s right, Big Bang was featured in this issue of Popteen!

G-dragon’s hair is like a… a hot-red side-face moustache…

Interview Questions!

1. Who’s the best at dancing? SOL (Taeyang)
2. Who’s the fashionista? G-dragon (Oh, definitely. With his side-mop.)
3. Who’s the most easily moved to tears? No one (Oh really? So we’re all tough guys here are we? I challenge them to watch One Litre of Tears without shedding a tear! Even the toughest, most dried eyed friend I know was able to relinquish half a tear for that series. >:)
V.I (Seungri): No one! That’s because we don’t have blood or tears (laughs). Also, Big Bang doesn’t cry!
[Rui: Alright Mr Seungri, so if I slash you open with my sword, you are saying that nothing will happen, right? Ok. I believe you]
4. T.O.P.: Even though you can see my tears, inside my heart, I am crying (laughs). Even now, I am crying inside!
[Rui: Aw he’s so cute. I hope he cheers up though..it’s probably not good for his body by bottling up those depressed feelings inside.. I recommend doing taichi in the morning, dear T.O.P. It really helps – makes you feel at the TOP of the world.] *finally, my sense of lameness has come out of the closet

Must. Get. These. Pyjamas.

Seifuku Style!

Caption: Look like a senpai (senior) with your neck tie and ‘amakei’ (erm, sweet system. whatever that means)

Popteen street-snapped 100 girls in their MEGA-snap collection.

Now, the face you want! – Cover Girl Make Up – pure, clean look

1. Apply Anna Sui eyeshadow over the whole of your eyelid.
2. Apply Givenchy orange-coloured eyeshadow (upper-left) on lower area of eyelid – leave the middle free to create the 3D rounded look.
3. Using the same orange, highlight under the eye.
4. Apply Givenchy brown-colour eyeshadow (lower-right) – smooth to a gradient.
5. Apply the same colour under the eye for the up-lifting feeling.
6. Line eye with brown eyeliner.
7. Upper false eyelashes – Anmiel #200
8.Lower false eyelashes – Anmiel #300
9. Apply suzy pink under eyes
10. Apply gold in that area between your eye and nose – I think for highlighting.
11. Done! Natural Look here you are!

I did my best with translating! I think you’ll get the general idea from the picture already anyways :))

Hope you enjoyed Popteen! xox

Word of the Day
まつ毛・matsuge
Eyelash
ワウ,まつ毛は長いです!Wow, your eyelashes are so long!

6 thoughts on “Popteen・ポップティーン July 2012

Leave a comment