Must See Japanese Films 2012 日本の映画

Truthfully, its already the last month of 2012. And that means everyone has about 27 days to get up and watch the films that i have lovingly placed on my pedestalled list. But really, don’t feel that this is a time challenge, because Japanese films are timeless harhar. No matter how many years in the future I hope you will look back at this list of 2012 films and feel the gush of appreciation towards me for recommending it to you. Or a pang of urge to watch one of the films because I recommended it. Or maybe just glance at this list and never watch any of them….because I recommended it. I don’t know. Your life is yours.

The 16th Japanese Film Festival recently opened in Australia in November which prompted Eri and I to abandon our blog  watch every film the ticket office would allow us with our dwindling budget in order to genuinely search for interesting films to post here.

The Japanese films that I’ve chosen are perfectly biased and incredibly opinionated because I do filter out horror and tragedy movies (no matter how much I try, I can’t bring myself to like these genres) and I am also pulled towards…you know…good looking species in films. Ahem.

 3. Afro Tanaka アフロ田中

There’s no subbed trailer right now but I think you’ll get the gist of the movie is like from Tanaka’s actions.

Hiroshi Tanaka has an afro. (must I say more) He didn’t ask for it at the hair salon but was in fact born with it. I’m not sure how that happened but I do feel for his mother.
For freedom Tanaka moves to Tokyo and works hard, but even though he has turned 24 he still can’t find a girlfriend. His school friend is getting married soon which just spurs his impatience.
…Then a beautiful woman named Aya Kato moves into the neighbourhood. Dun dun dun.

afro-tanaka-image-1

The movie is pretty much wrapped around in slapstick humour, something very common amongst Japananese films. Its light hearted and stars Shota Matsuda, who is an amazing actor across a range of films. It’s a must watch!

2.Thermae Romae テルマエ・ロマエ

If you are interested in Japanese toilets or Romans or Romans that speak Japanese, I say no more. Watch this movie now!
I must say it was strange seeing ‘ancient Roman’s’ speak Japanese but the movie was so enjoyable that it didn’t matter.

Based of a manga, the movie follows a Roman architect named Lucius who has run out of ideas to create more innovative thermae (facilities for bathing in Ancient Rome). He somehow travels to modern day Japanese bath houses through some portal in the water. From there, his adventures begin!

thermaeromae5

Truthfully, I felt like an ancient Roman myself when I compared the super-modern-technologised-wash-your-butt-for-you Japanese toilets to you know, the prehistoric ones in my house. The movie is a good laugh as you see comedic situations that Lucius is put through despite his utterly serious nature.

1.Rurouni Kenshin るろうに剣心


I don’t think any one can disagree as to how awesome this movie is. Tickets for the movie was sold out in a week so the film festival had to hold a second screening!

As an avid fan of rurouni kenshin, I’ve been supporting the anime and manga from way back and now that that live action movie is out.. -shiing- life could not be better.

During the Meiji era in Japan, a rurouni (wandering samurai) named Himura Kenshin who has given up his previous title as the assassin ‘Hitokiri Battosai’ and now wanders around the countryside of Japan seeking a peaceful life. However he finds himself constantly confronted by the shadows of his past.

rurounikenshin1

The story is pretty much triggered when Kenshin meets a woman named Kamiya Kaoru. And then stuff happens. i.e. awesome sword fighting scenes, awesome two hour plot with sub-plots, awesome lovey-doveyness for the fangirls

Out of all the films this year, Rurouni Kenshin is a must-watch-or-just-return-to-life-under-rock film. Obviously I chose it because of how well the film was put together and the detailed cinematography etc etc. Not because of the casting or anything…

rk-movie-6

Not at all. Not at all…

Leave a comment