Zipper・ジッパー May 2012

Zipper is a Harajuku fashion magazine that offers a wide range of styles for hitting the Japanese streets, or any other street if you would like. Their clothing includes bright retro to colourful prints to a natural look with sweeping pastel-coloured skirts. Sometimes, styles are mixed and to produce this colourful magazine with a modern edge.

Title says: Dress Well for Spring, Layer Up

Ah, the universal question: What should I wear today? This month’s issue will introduce a range of clothing coordination for your perusal. Pick, Choose, Mix and Match!

Here are some examples they recommend. It’s pretty straight-forward, so I don’t think I need to explain. Basically, match the letters to get the combinations. (In, the end, I explained anyway…)

More combinations! La la la~

The next few pages, they provide more combinations. You can coordinate your clothing around a certain piece of clothing: item 2. Mint-coloured Tuck Skirt; item 3. Tattoo Stocking; item 4.Dungaree Shirt; item 5. Colourful Skinny-Pants

Imaginary tagline: Never run out of combinations again after you get your hands on this magazine!

I found a page with an example of their mixed styles: Vintage Romantic.

Spring-Summer’s big trend: sherbet colour, knit, chiffon, lace, etc. Denim recommended for the casual look. The rest of the kanji is a bit hard to read because its blurry (not that I have an expansive range of kanji in my head, but I do like to pretend I can read the whole magazine fluently so I shall make up a lame excuse to why I can’t translate the whole thing).

The clothing displayed here is from the Japanese brand, ‘tricolour’ which can be found on Zipper’s fashion website, if you would like to have a look:Spinns

Word of Day
着こなし・Kikonashi
Dressing Well

Leave a comment