Japanese Mobile Phones ケータイ電話 (and their CMs)

I remember back in the pre-iPhone days when I had a brick phone, I would notice that Japan had all these awesome phones. These days (even when my brick phone is now only used for one purpose: throwing at people – it is a brick after all) Japan is still popping out these amazing phones that we, in the West, have probably not even dreamt of yet.

Exhibit A: Sharp’s Solar Waterproof Phone

And that was back in 2009!

Big brands including AU, Softbank, Docomo NTT dominate the ケータイmarket today. And like with any other marketable product in Japan, many of the CMs they broadcast are complemented by the presence of idols, actors/actresses, singers, celebrities, sports stars. Here are some of my personal favourites:

1. Softbank’s Shirato Family
Softbank has a whole string of these CMs where a adorable fluffy white dog is the head of the family as “Otousan”, Kanako Higuchi is the typical Japanese wife and mother, Aya Ueto is the daughter, Dante Carver is the foreigner son, and more recently Reina Triendl has joined the lot as an exchange student.


Man, Softbank has the best CMs! I really enjoyed these SMAP ones as well:

2. AU and Arashi
Arashi have been a long time advertiser of AU’s phones, in fact, they have a been a long time advertiser of … just about anything. From mobile phones to Nintendo to JAL to the odd noodle and makeup CM here and there, Arashi will surely appear in front of you, in your living room… as soon as you turn on your Japanese TV.


3. Docomo NTT and… everyone

Docomo has had a long, endless list of idols who have advertised for them, but my favourite has endured throughout the years. These CMs have actor Watanabe Ken as the ケータイpersonality, they have a similar one where Horikita Maki is the ‘phone’  following the owner around… literally, and like, to everywhere. Quite amusing. Especially with that guy from 僕の初恋を君に捧ぐ( I Give My First Love To You) and 花ざかりの君たちへ…(“Hana Kimi”) in it as well.

I hope y’all enjoyed this instalment about Japan’s ケータイ電話, well actually their CMs. Stay tuned for the next instalment where we’ll be discussing the 絵文字 Emoji endemic and other stuffs… well basically the actual phone.

2 thoughts on “Japanese Mobile Phones ケータイ電話 (and their CMs)

    • Indeed they are 🙂 I have to say I love their CMs as much as their dramas/films.

      I agree! I have a bad habit of soaking my phones with water…

Leave a comment